University of Iowa’s Wallace Named a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation ‘Nurse Faculty Scholar’

NEWS            RELEASE                                                            Contact: Gretchen Wright or Johanna Diaz
August 31, 2010                                                                           202/371-1999
University of Iowa’s Wallace Named a
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation ‘Nurse Faculty Scholar’
Chronic Illness Researcher is Selected for Prestigious
Program to Advance Careers of Nation’s Most Promising Junior Nurse Faculty
Iowa City, IA—Andrea Wallace, Ph.D., N.D., A.P.R.N.-B.C., A.D.M., an assistant professor at the College of Nursing at the University of Iowa, has won a competitive grant from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) to study how to implement self-management support for patients with diabetes in community primary care settings. Wallace is one of just 12 nurse educators from around the country to receive the three-year $350,000 Nurse Faculty Scholar award this year. It is given to junior faculty who show outstanding promise as future leaders in academic nursing. The grant period begins next month.
“I am honored to have been selected for this award and thrilled that because of it, I will be able to focus on critical research that will find new ways to better support patients with chronic illnesses,” Wallace said. “I have always been passionate about finding ways to continually improve the care we provide. Through this Robert Wood Johnson Foundation-funded research, I will be able to examine how to best get interventions out to the broader patient population that so desperately needs it.”
Wallace’s research focuses on reorganizing clinical systems to best meet the needs of the chronically ill. The study builds on her work developing strategies for supporting the self-management goals of patients, particularly for those with limited literacy skills. It will examine ways in which these strategies may be adopted by community primary care settings.
“In addition to the tremendous support I am receiving for my research, this award also builds upon my role as a faculty member and emphasizes my teaching mission and service,” added Wallace. “The exposure to senior colleagues and peers and the support I will receive from them are invaluable.”
Keela Herr, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., A.G.S.F, professor at the University of Iowa College of Nursing, chair of the Adult and Gerontology Area of Study and research director of the John A. Hartford Center for Geriatric Nursing Excellence, and Gary E. Rosenthal, M.D., professor of Medicine and Health Management and Policy and director of the Division of General Internal Medicine at the University of Iowa, will serve as Wallace’s mentors.
“Dr. Wallace’s work could make an enormous difference in the care we provide patients,” Herr said. “The clinical innovations she is researching could make a significant difference in how health care providers and the systems we work in support people with serious chronic conditions.” 
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars program aims to strengthen the academic productivity and overall excellence of nursing schools by developing the next generation of national leaders in academic nursing. Supporting junior nurse faculty will help curb a shortage of nurse educators that could undermine the health and health care of all Americans. The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act will vastly increase the number of people who can access health care in the United States. As the number of patients increases, there will be greater demand for skilled nurses and faculty to educate them. Right now, many schools of nursing are turning away qualified applicants because they lack the faculty to teach them.
The Nurse Faculty Scholars program is helping to curb the shortage by helping more junior faculty succeed in, and commit to, academic careers. The program provides talented junior faculty with salary and research support as well as the chance to participate in institutional and national mentoring activities, leadership training, and networking events with colleagues in nursing and other fields, while continuing to teach and provide institutional, professional and community service in their universities.
The program will also enhance the stature of the scholars’ academic institutions, which will benefit fellow nurse educators seeking professional development opportunities.
To receive the award, scholars must be registered nurses who have completed a research doctorate in nursing or a related discipline and who have held a tenure-eligible faculty position at an accredited nursing school for at least two and no more than five years.
Several Nurse Faculty Scholars have been recognized for outstanding work since they were accepted into the program. In 2009, Scholar Kynna Wright-Volel, Ph.D., M.S.N., M.P.H., an assistant professor at the UCLA School of Nursing, won the Minority Health Community Trailblazer Award in 2009. It is given by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in recognition of work to eliminate health disparities.
Earlier this year, Nurse Faculty Scholar Joachim Voss, Ph.D., R.N., A.C.R.N., an assistant professor of nursing at the University of Washington, received the 2010 Undergraduate Research Mentor Award. Voss was among only five faculty to receive this year’s award and the first professor from the School of Nursing ever to receive the honor. The Award is open to all faculty members at the University of Washington, which has 3,600 instructional faculty.
Three Nurse Faculty Scholars—Angela Amar, R.N., Ph.D. of the William F. Connell School of Nursing at Boston College; Cynthia Anderson, Ph.D., W.H.N.P., an assistant professor at the College of Nursing at theUniversity of North Dakota; and Nancy Hanrahan, R.N., Ph.D., an assistant professor at the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing—will be inducted into the American Academy of Nursing this fall. Amar is using her RWJF grant to research the factors that encourage college women to report interpersonal violence, Anderson is looking at vitamin D deficiency in pregnant women from the rural, northern plains, and Hanrahan is studying outcomes from patients who are admitted to hospitals to receive psychiatric services. 
The Nurse Faculty Scholars program is funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and administered through the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing. It is directed by Jacquelyn Campbell, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N., who is the Anna D. Wolf chair and professor at the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing.
To learn more about the program, visit
# # # #
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation focuses on the pressing health and health care issues facing our country. As the nation’s largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to improving the health and health care of all Americans, we work with a diverse group of organizations and individuals to identify solutions and achieve comprehensive, meaningful and timely change. For more than 35 years we’ve brought experience, commitment and a rigorous, balanced approach to the problems that affect the health and health care of those we serve. When it comes to helping Americans lead healthier lives and get the care they need, we expect to make a difference in your lifetime.