This site is an archive of a closed Robert Wood Johnson Foundation program, provided for educational and historical purposes. Please note that this content is not routinely updated and that contact information and social links may not work.

Program Bios

Jacquelyn (Jackie) Campbell, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Program Director

Dr. Jacquelyn Campbell is a national leader in research and advocacy in the field of domestic and intimate partner violence (IPV). Her more than 12 major federally funded research investigations paved the way for a growing body of interdisciplinary knowledge in the disciplines of nursing, medicine, and public health. Her expertise is frequently sought by national and international policy makers in addressing IPV and its health effects (including HIV/AIDS). As a nurse educator and mentor, Dr. Campbell leads by example in inspiring new generations of nurse researchers at the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing. Elected to the Institute of Medicine in 2000, Dr. Campbell also was the Institute of Medicine/American Academy of Nursing/American Nurses' Foundation Senior Scholar in Residence and currently serves as Co-Chair of the IOM Forum on the Prevention of Global Violence. Other honors include the Pathfinder Distinguished Researcher by the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research (NIH), the 2011 Sigma Theta Tau International Research Award, the American Society of Criminology Vollmer award and one of 17 Gilman Scholars at Johns Hopkins University.  She is the currently a member of the Board of Directors of Futures Without Violence and served as past Chair and on the board of the House of Ruth Battered Women's Shelter and four other shelters. Dr. Campbell was also a member of the congressionally-appointed U.S. Department of Defense Task Force on Domestic Violence. Dr. Campbell is widely published with more than 220 articles and ten books and holds a joint appointment in the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Maryjoan Ladden, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
Senior Program Officer
Dr. Ladden is Senior Program Officer at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Her work at the Foundation focuses on building a diverse and well trained workforce and leadership in health and healthcare. Dr. Ladden manages most of the Foundation’s nursing initiatives. She leads the Foundation’s efforts in primary care and interprofessional collaboration. Prior to joining the Foundation, she served as interim Chief Programs Officer of the American Nurses Association (ANA), providing strategic direction, integration and coordination for all of ANA’s programs. Dr. Ladden also spent over 20 years in Boston as a nurse practitioner, case manager, researcher, and Director of Continuing Professional Education at Harvard Pilgrim Health Care and as Assistant Professor at Harvard Medical School. Her work has focused on improving health care quality, safety and health professional collaboration. She received her B.S. in nursing from the University of Connecticut, an M.S. from the University of Rochester, and a Ph.D., with Distinction, from Boston College School of Nursing.
Angela Barron McBride, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.
NAC Chair
Angela Barron McBride is Distinguished Professor and University Dean Emerita at Indiana University School of Nursing; she is also a member of the Indiana University Health Board (18-hospital network), and chairs the board’s Committee on Quality and Patient Safety. Dr. McBride is known for her contributions to women’s health, particularly the psychology of parenthood, and to psychiatric-mental health nursing.  She served as president of Sigma Theta Tau International (1987‑1989) and of the American Academy of Nursing (1993‑1995).  In 1995, she was elected to membership in the Institute of Medicine, and in 2006, she was named a “Living Legend” by the American Academy of Nursing. In recent years, she has directed the annual leadership conference sponsored by the National Hartford Centers of Gerontological Nursing Excellence; she also chairs the national advisory committee for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Nurse Faculty Scholars Program. Her latest book entitled The Growth and Development of Nurse Leaders  won the 2011PROSE Award for the category “Nursing and Allied Health” (Prose Awards are the premier awards for outstanding professional and scholarly publishing in the United States).